On Thursday, March 14, the Louisa Burns Osteopathic Research Committee (LBORC) will host its annual research forum, Research Proposal and Mentorship (RPM) Grand Rounds from 7 to 8:30 p.m. The purpose of this program is to assist physicians and osteopathic medical students in assessing research proposals and facilitate the outcome of osteopathic research. Light refreshments will be provided at this event.

The format for this evening is similar to the TV show “Shark Tank” where aspiring investigators at any stage of their career present their research proposal to the audience and a panel of experienced researchers. In doing so, presenters will receive advice on their projects to increase the rigor of their study, and they will have the potential of one of the experts choosing to help mentor the investigator during their study. The audience directly engages both the investigators and the panelists to help audience members gain numerous pearls to refine their own research questions and identify ways to improve osteopathic research projects. Presenters from previous RPM Grand Rounds will provide status updates on their projects at the beginning of this session.

Research Proposals Due Jan. 31

Researchers interested in presenting proposals should submit a written concept paper (two-page maximum) no later than Jan. 31, 2019, to Proposals should clearly define the clinical relevance, research question, and testable hypothesis. They should include an overview of the study design, cohort to be studied, recruitment strategy, methodology, and projected timeline and budget. Learn more at

Please sign up for the forum when you register online for Convocation. Alternatively, physicians can use the form on Page 11 of this brochure to register for the research forum. Student registration is on Page 19.

You are encouraged to join the members of the LBORC for a very interactive, entertaining session to experience the process of research project development.

Presenters must register for the AAO's Convocation to attend.


AAO Recognized for Contributions to Profession

On Saturday, July 21, the AAO was one of four recipients of the American Osteopathic Association’s 2019 STARs (Strategic Team Award and Recognition) for its dedication to advancing osteopathic medicine. The STARs recognize contributions made by state, specialty and regional affiliates, colleges of osteopathic medicine, osteopathic postdoctoral training institutions (OPTIs), and nonpractice affiliates that have advanced the osteopathic profession. The award honors programs and activities that align with the initiatives in the AOA’s strategic plan.

Jacob J. Cukierski, DO, Named 2018 Resident of the Year

Jacob J. Cukierski, DO, of Erie, Pennsylvania, was named the 2018 Resident of the Year by the American Academy of Osteopathy (AAO) on March 22 during the AAO’s annual meeting during its Convocation in Dallas.

Sidney N. Dunn Receives AAO's Academy Award

Sidney N. Dunn of Carmel, Indiana, is the 2018 recipient of the highest award that the American Academy of Osteopathy (AAO) bestows on a nonphysician.