PAAO Officers


Marta Elisabeth Bringhurst, DO
Chair and resident member of the AAO Board of Trustees

Lauren A. Davis, DO
Vice chair

Leah D. Frank, DO

Lucan Watt Chatterley, DO

Saundra Y. Holseth, DO

National coordinator


Amy Selwach, DO
AAO Osteopathic Medical Economics Committee liaison

ZhanTao Yang, DO
SAAO liaison

Zachary Shiver, DO
AAO Awards Committee liaison

Randal J. Davis, DO
The Osteopathic Cranial Academy liaison

Kristin Putnam, DO
American Association of Colleges of Osteopathic Medicine’s National Academy of Osteopathic Medical Educators

Angela Tyson, DO
Louisa Burns Osteopathic Research Committee liaison


AAO Response Regarding Larry Nassar

Osteopathic physicians are trained to utilize osteopathic manipulative treatment (OMT) in the care of their patients. OMT offers an effective and nonpharmacologic option to treat a wide range of conditions, from common musculoskeletal disorders, such as low back and neck pain, to improving outcomes for elderly hospitalized patients admitted for pneumonia.

Giving Tuesday: Nov. 28

Giving Tuesday was celebrated for the first time in 2012. We encourage you to make your Giving Tuesday plans in the spirit of thankfulness that sometimes gets buried by the holiday advertising.

AAO Loses Past President Robert E. Kappler, DO, FAAODist, FCA

AAO life member Robert E. Kappler, DO, FAAODist, of River Grove, Illinois, died Oct. 18. Dr. Kappler was the 1980-81 president of the Academy, and he was a recipient of the AAO’s Andrew Taylor Still Medallion of Honor and the FAAO’s Distinguished Service Award.