SAAO Executive Council

SAAO Leadership Team

Officers are elected each year at the SAAO annual business meeting at Convocation. If you are interested in serving as a representative, please contact your chapter officer.

  • The chair of the SAAO Executive Committee serves as a voting member on the AAO Board of Trustees and coordinates the SAAO program for Convocation.
  • The vice chair coordinates the annual A. Hollis Wolf Case Presentation Competition, designs the Convocation T-shirt and plans the student mixer that takes place at Convocation.
  • The secretary-treasurer coordinates communication via Live Still Point and social media.
  • The national coordinator is the first point of contact for local chapters and manages the VIP points that each chapter earns.
  • The NUFA liaison is the first point of contact for NUFA representatives from each chapter.

General questions, comments, concerns or exciting ideas can be directed to the national coordinator.

In addition to the positions listed below, SAAO representatives serve on AAO committees.

SAAO Executive Committee

PositionNameSAAO Email
ChairSierra Autumn Grasso, OMS IV
Ohio University Heritage College of Osteopathic Medicine at Athens
Vice-ChairBrian Eugene Scharfenberg, OMS IV
Ohio University Heritage College of Osteopathic Medicine at Athens
Secretary-TreasurerMichael David Smith, OMS III
Nova Southeastern University College of Osteopathic Medicine in Fort Lauderdale, Florida
National CoordinatorAmber M. Brown, OMS III
Des Moines University College of Osteopathic Medicine in Iowa
NUFA LiaisonDavid Mann, OMS III
Alabama College of Osteopathic Medicine in Dothan



What It Means to Be “Keepers of the Flame”

We as the osteopathic profession stand on the brink of the greatest opportunity we have ever seen to bring true osteopathic care to the forefront of medicine in America.

Book & DVD Signings at 2017 Convocation

Four authors have agreed to sign books and DVDs during the AAO's 2017 Convocation. Bring your copies with you or purchase copies from the AAO's store at Convocation.

Abstracts for 2017 poster presentation due Jan. 30

The Louisa Burns Osteopathic Research Committee (LBORC) and the National Undergraduate Fellows Association (NUFA) are calling for submissions to their annual Research Poster Presentation. Posters will be displayed in the exhibit hall on Thursday, March 23, and Friday, March 24, during the 2017 Convocation at The Broadmoor.