Scott Memorial Lecturer Award (retired in 2008)

Scott Memorial Lecturer Award 

John M. Jones, DO, pictured delivering the Northup Lecture in 2015, delivered the Scott Memorial Lecture in 2001.The Scott Memorial Lecture, established in 1963, provided an opportunity for students at the Kirksville College of Osteopathic Medicine—formerly the American School of Osteopathy, the founding osteopathic medical school in the United States—to hear outstanding lectures on the principles and techniques of osteopathic medicine.

The fund that supported the lecture was established in memory of John Herbert Boyce Scott, DO, and his wife, Katherine Fraser McCleod Scott, DO, by their daughter, Jeannette Scott Webster and her husband, Lawrence B. Webster.

Dr. John Scott and Dr. Katherine Scott graduated from the American School of Osteopathy in 1906 and 1905, respectively. They practiced together for more than 50 years in Columbus, Ohio.

The lectures from 1985 through 2006 are available for purchase from the AAO’s online store.

Year       Recipient (* denotes deceased)

2008       Jerry L. Dickey, DO, FAAO
2007       John C. Glover, DO, FAAO
2006       Herbert C. Miller, DO, FAAO
2005       Karen M. Steele, DO, FAAO
2004       Dennis J. Dowling, DO, FAAO
2003       Richard L. VanBuskirk, DO, FAAO
2002       Robert C. Ward, DO, FAAO
2001       John M. Jones, III, DO
2000       Boyd R. Buser, DO
1999       Eileen L. DiGiovanna, DO, FAAO
1998       Raymond J. Hruby, DO, FAAO
1997       William L. Johnston, DO, FAAO*
1996       Stanley Schiowitz, DO, FAAO*
1995       Melicien A. Tettambel, DO, FAAO*
1994       none
1993       Martyn E. Richardson, DO*
1992       Michael L. Kuchera, DO, FAAO
1991       J. Scott Heatherington, DO*
1990       Alan R. Becker, DO, FAAO*
1989       Philip E Greenman, DO, FAAO*
1988       Wayne R. English, Jr., DO
1987       Stephen D. Blood, DO, FAAO
1986       Paul E. Kimberly, DO, FAAO*
1985       Rollin E. Becker, DO*
1984       Anthony G. Chila, DO, FAAO
1983       Charles A. Knouse, DO*
1982       Donald Siehl, DO, FAAO*
1981       Harold A. Blood, DO, FAAO*
1980       John H. Harakal, DO, FAAO*
1979       Robert E. Kappler, DO, FAAO
1978       Harold I. Magoun, Jr., DO, FAAO*
1977       Louise W. Astell, DO*
1976       Nicholas S. Nicholas, DO, FAAO*
1975       Edward G. Stiles, DO, FAAO
1974       Richard E. Eby, DO*
1973       William O. Kingsbury, DO, FAAO*
1972       Viola M. Frymann, DO, FAAO*
1971       Edgar S. Miller, DO, FAAO
1970       R. McFarlene Tilley, DO*
1969       C. Robert Starks, DO*
1968       Dale Dodson, DO*
1967       Irwin M. Korr, PhD*
1966       Thomas J. Ruddy, DO*
1965       A. Hollis Wolf, DO, FAAO*
1964       George W. Northup, DO, FAAO*
1963       David A. Patriquin, DO, FAAO


AAO Response Regarding Larry Nassar

Osteopathic physicians are trained to utilize osteopathic manipulative treatment (OMT) in the care of their patients. OMT offers an effective and nonpharmacologic option to treat a wide range of conditions, from common musculoskeletal disorders, such as low back and neck pain, to improving outcomes for elderly hospitalized patients admitted for pneumonia.

Giving Tuesday: Nov. 28

Giving Tuesday was celebrated for the first time in 2012. We encourage you to make your Giving Tuesday plans in the spirit of thankfulness that sometimes gets buried by the holiday advertising.

AAO Loses Past President Robert E. Kappler, DO, FAAODist, FCA

AAO life member Robert E. Kappler, DO, FAAODist, of River Grove, Illinois, died Oct. 18. Dr. Kappler was the 1980-81 president of the Academy, and he was a recipient of the AAO’s Andrew Taylor Still Medallion of Honor and the FAAO’s Distinguished Service Award.