AAO Advocacy

If you are invested in the future of the osteopathic profession, the AAO encourages you to get involved. Start building relationships by attending meetings of your state societies, the AAO's Convocation or the American Ostoepathic Association's annual conference. 

As 2016-17 AOA President Boyd R. Buser, DO, FACOFP, told AAO Member News, "osteopathic associations are the only ones looking out for our interests. ... If you expect someone to advocate for you, you need to support them."


State associations provide their members with local resources, legislative advocacy, continuing medical education and much more. In addition, they provide excellent groundwork for understanding association governance.


The AAO uses AAO Member News and social media outlets to keep members informed of issues that may affect them.

Recently, the Academy worked with the AOA's governmental affairs department to promote SaveOMT.org in response to proposed changes to a local coverage determination that would dramatically impact members in 10 states. In addition, 2016-17 AAO President Laura E. Griffin, DO, FAAO, signed a letter of support for the Comprehensive Addiction and Recovery Act of 2016 on behalf of the Academy's members. 



The AAO works with FIMM, the Osteopathic International Alliance and the AOA's Bureau of International Osteopathic Medicine to promote standardized principles around the world. 

AAO Governor Michael L. Kuchera, DO, FAAO, has served as FIMM's secretary-general since 2007, and he previously served as FIMM's vice president from 2002 to 2006. Dr. Kuchera served as the AAO's 1996-97 president.

In 2017, Heather P. Ferrill, DO, MS MEdL, who serves on the AAO's Board of Trustees, was appointed as the AAO's representative to FIMM.

Jane E. Carreiro, DO, the AAO's 2013-14 president, is the immediate past chair of the Board of Directors of the Osteopathic International Alliance. Boyd R. Buser, DO, FACOP, the AAO's 1995-96 president and the AOA's 2016-17 president; Ana Paula A. Ferreira, DO (Brazil), an international affiliate member of the Academy; Frank Mueller, MD, DO (Germany), an international affiliate member of the AAO; and John R. Gimpel, DO, MEd, FACOFP, also serve on the OIA's 2017-18 Board of Directors.

International Education...

"Training in Musculoskeletal Medicine: Dry Needling -- The 20 Best," Feb. 21-22, 2018, at the Sheraton in Tel Aviv. Learn more and register at https://dry-needling.isas.co.il/.


Jacob J. Cukierski, DO, Named 2018 Resident of the Year

Jacob J. Cukierski, DO, of Erie, Pennsylvania, was named the 2018 Resident of the Year by the American Academy of Osteopathy (AAO) on March 22 during the AAO’s annual meeting during its Convocation in Dallas.

Sidney N. Dunn Receives AAO's Academy Award

Sidney N. Dunn of Carmel, Indiana, is the 2018 recipient of the highest award that the American Academy of Osteopathy (AAO) bestows on a nonphysician.

Edward G. Stiles, DO, FAAO, Honored by Committee on Fellowship

Edward G. Stiles, DO, FAAO, of Lexington, Kentucky, received the Distinguished Service Award from the Committee on Fellowship in the American Academy of Osteopathy (AAO) on March 23 at the Academy’s annual Convocation in Dallas. The Fellow of the American Academy of Osteopathy (FAAO) Distinguished Service Award is presented to fellows who have distinguished themselves in contributions to osteopathic literature; development of osteopathic theories, methods or procedures; research; osteopathic education; service to the AAO; public relations; service to public health; or osteopathic medical economics and advocacy.