RAAO Officers


The following officers and committee representatives were elected by the members of the Resident American Academy of Osteopathy (formerly the Postgraduate AAO) at their annual business meeting on Friday, March 15, 2019, in Orlando, Florida. If you are interested in serving in any of the positions listed below, contact the RAAO chair.

Amy Selwach, DO, MBA, chair
Amy Joy Selwach, DO, MBA
Chair and resident member of the AAO Board of Trustees
Laura Gurenlian, DO, vice chair
Laura H. Gurenlian, DO
Vice chair 
no photo provided
Marta Elisabeth Bringhurst, DO
Immediate past chair
Elizabeth Balyakina, DO, secretary
Elizabeth Svyatoslavna Balyakina, DO
no photo provided
Chelsy Marie Stephenson, DO
Christina Cherry, DO, national coordinator
Christina Brianne Cherry, DO
National coordinator


Resident member committee liaisons are voting members of their committees and should plan to attend all of their committees' teleconferences and meetings.

Joshua F. Potter, DO
AAO Awards Committee liaison

Schuyler Cook, DO
AAO Bylaws Committee liaison

Miral V. Vaghasia, DO
AAO International Affairs Advisory Council liaison

Elizabeth Svyatoslavna Balyakina, DO
AAO Informational Technologies Committee liaison

Frank Patrick Goodman, DO, MS
AAO Louisa Burns Osteopathic Research Committee liaison

Christina Brianne Cherry, DO
AAO Membership Committee liaison

Carelle A. Cherebin, DO
AAO Osteopathic Education Services Committee liaison

Kristopher Michael Schock, DO
AAO Osteopathic Medical Economics Committee liaison

ZhanTao Yang, DO
AAO Postdoctoral Training Committee liaison

Frank Patrick Goodman, DO, MS
AAO Publications Committee liaison

Samuel Hirsch Werner, DO
SAAO liaison

Edward Francis Ennedy, DO
The Osteopathic Cranial Academy liaison


Resident of the Year Nominations Due Nov. 30

The AAO’s Resident of the Year award recognizes outstanding residents who promote osteopathic principles and practices in their residency programs in addition to contributing to the AAO and the osteopathic profession at large. Nominations are due Nov. 30.

2019 AOF/AAO Outstanding OMM Resident

Nominate an outstanding resident for the 2019 AOF/AAO Outstanding Resident of the Year in Osteopathic Manipulative Medicine. Deadline: May 10

Eileen L. DiGiovanna, DO, FAAO, Receives Distinguished Service Award

Eileen L. DiGiovanna, DO, FAAO, of Smithtown, New York, received the Distinguished Service Award from the Committee on Fellowship in the American Academy of Osteopathy (AAO) on March 15 at the Academy’s annual Convocation in Orlando, Florida.