AAO Resident of the Year

Osteopathic Resident Physician of the Year

The AAO’s Resident of the Year exemplifies the Academy’s values in his or her residency program. Nominees exhibit osteopathic principles and practices at their residency programs and encourage other residents, faculty and students to continue to use osteopathic principles and practice.

Nominees should meet the following criteria:

  • The nominee has contributed to the Academy.
  • The nominee has contributed to osteopathic principles and practices at his or her residency program.
  • The nominee has participated in Academy events, including, but not limited to, the AAO’s annual Convocation, the American Osteopathic Association’s annual Osteopathic Medical Conference and Exposition, or other AAO educational programs.

One nomination per year is accepted from any osteopathic-approved residency program or AAO component society. An application with a brief essay of why the nominee deserves the award is submitted to the AAO’s Awards Committee, and the recipient is named in advance of the AAO’s annual Convocation, where he or she is honored at the annual business meeting.

Nomination forms must be accompanied by letters of recommendation, a personal statement from the nominee and the nominee’s current curriculum vitae. This packet of information must be submitted in one complete application by the nominating organization.

Nomination forms must be postmarked by Sunday, Dec. 17 (deadline extended from Nov. 30). Mail completed nomination packets to American Academy of Osteopathy, Attn: Debbie Cole, 3500 DePauw Blvd., Suite 1100, Indianapolis, IN 46268-1136, or send them via email (DCole@academyofosteopathy.org) or by fax (317-879-0563) before Dec. 17.

The recipient of the 2018 Resident of the Year award will be selected by the Board of Governors in January 2018. The award will be presented during the AAO’s annual business meeting on Thursday, March 22, 2018, at the Hilton Anatole in Dallas.

2017Lauren J. Leslie, DO, Michigan State University College of Osteopathic Medicine in East Lansing
2016Kristie M. Petree, DO, Michigan State University College of Osteopathic Medicine in East Lansing
2015Catherine B. Donahue, DO, Michigan State University College of Osteopathic Medicine in East Lansing
2014Eileen M. Conaway, DO, Florida Hospital East Orlando
2013Michael A. Chipman, DO, Kingman Regional Medical Center in Arizona
2012Leslie M. Ching, DO, Doctors Hospital Family Medicine Residency in Grove City, Ohio, and Oklahoma State University in Tulsa
2011Sarah J. James, DO, Columbia St. Mary’s Family Medicine Residency in Milwaukee, Wisconsin
2010Teodor Huzij, DO, University of New England College of Osteopathic Medicine in Biddeford, Maine



AAO Response Regarding Larry Nassar

Osteopathic physicians are trained to utilize osteopathic manipulative treatment (OMT) in the care of their patients. OMT offers an effective and nonpharmacologic option to treat a wide range of conditions, from common musculoskeletal disorders, such as low back and neck pain, to improving outcomes for elderly hospitalized patients admitted for pneumonia.

Giving Tuesday: Nov. 28

Giving Tuesday was celebrated for the first time in 2012. We encourage you to make your Giving Tuesday plans in the spirit of thankfulness that sometimes gets buried by the holiday advertising.

AAO Loses Past President Robert E. Kappler, DO, FAAODist, FCA

AAO life member Robert E. Kappler, DO, FAAODist, of River Grove, Illinois, died Oct. 18. Dr. Kappler was the 1980-81 president of the Academy, and he was a recipient of the AAO’s Andrew Taylor Still Medallion of Honor and the FAAO’s Distinguished Service Award.