The Academy Award


Demonstrating commitment to osteopathic principles and to the osteopathic profession; The AAO’s Academy Award recognizes individuals outside of the Academy who have profoundly contributed to the profession by:

  • Exhibiting outstanding efforts or special contributions to promote osteopathic medicine;
  • Continuously showing support of and collaboration with osteopathic organization;
  • And having a vision that is complementary to the Academy’s mission.

Established in 2000, this award addressed several action items from the AAO’s strategic plan.

The Board of Trustees identified the first recipient at its October 2000 meeting, and the inaugural award was presented at the AAO’s Convocation in March 2001.

Year Recipient (Asterisk* denotes deceased)
2023 Joshua L. Prober, JD
2020 Johannes Mayer, MD, DOM (Germany)
2019 Robert Orenstein, DO, FIDSA, FACP, AAHIVS
2018 Sidney N. Dunn
2017 Angela Cole Westhoff, MA
2016 Paul R. Standley, PhD
2015 Diana L. Finley, CMP
2014 Richard A. Vincent, MBA
2013 Michael E. Fitzgerald, BA
2012 Michael M. Patterson, PhD
2011 Fred C. Tinning, PhD
2010 John B. Crosby, JD
2009 Stephen J. Noone, MS, CAE
2008 Frank H. Willard, PhD
2007 Barbara Peterson, D. Litt (Hon)
2006 Norman Gevitz, PhD
2005 Albert Kelso, PhD*
2004 Irvin M. Korr, PhD*
2003 W. Douglas Ward, PhD*
2002 Judy Staser
2001 Andrew T. Weil, MD