Thomas L. Northup Lecturer Award

Achievements in Osteopathic Education, Research, Clinical Practice, or Professional Management

To be named a Thomas L. Northup Lecturer, an individual must reflect the stature of Dr. Northup in fields such as education, research, clinical practice, professional management or allied categories of activity. The lecture is delivered during the Academy’s program at the American Osteopathic Association’s annual Osteopathic Medical Conference and Exposition.

Founding Father of the American Academy of Osteopathy

Thomas L. Northup, DO, was considered the founding father of the American Academy of Osteopathy. In 1937, Dr. Northup led the movement to establish a specialty section of the American Osteopathic Association that would focus on osteopathic structural diagnosis and manipulative therapy. In 1943, the specialty section became known at the Academy of Applied Osteopathy. It was renamed the American Academy of Osteopathy in 1970. Dr. Northup was the secretary-treasurer from 1938 to 1947.

Dr. Northup was the Academy’s first editor. He worked to provide all members with copies of selected papers presented at the AOA’s conventions. This project became known as the yearbook of selected osteopathic papers, and Dr. Northup was the editor until 1950.

Dr. Northup also chaired the Academy’s Publications Committee and the Endowment Committee. In 1948, the Academy granted him the Andrew Taylor Still Medallion of Honor, and he delivered the Academy Lecture in 1955. In addition, he was a prolific contributor to The Journal of the American Osteopathic Association. He also served as the AOA’s 1951-52 vice president, and he was the AOA’s 1955 A.T. Still Memorial Lecturer.

Year Recipient (*denotes deceased)
2020 Alexander S. Nicholas, DO, FAAODist
2019 Doris B. Newman, DO, FAAO
2018 Lisa Ann DeStefano, DO
2017 Kenneth J. Lossing, DO
2016 Martin S. Levine, DO, MPH
2015 John M. Jones, DO
2014 Judith A. O'Connell, DO, MHA, FAAO (text)
2013 Hugh M. Ettlinger, DO, FAAO
2012 Jane E. Carreiro, DO
2011 Brian F. Degenhardt, DO (text)
2010 Kenneth E. Nelson, DO, FAAO, FACOFP (text)
2009 Kenneth H. Johnson, DO, FAAO (text)
2008 Karen M. Steele, DO, FAAO (text)
2007 Hollis H. King, DO, PhD, FAAO (text)
2006 Mark S. Cantieri, DO, FAAO (text)
2005 Dennis J. Dowling, DO, FAAO (text)
2004 John C. Glover, DO, FAAO (text)
2003 Boyd R. Buser, DO, FACOFP (text)
2002 Melicien A. Tettambel, DO, FAAO* (text)
2001 Ann L. Habenicht, DO, FAAO (text)
2000 Michael L. Kuchera, DO, FAAO
1999 James S. Jealous, DO
1998 Eileen L. DiGiovanna, DO, FAAO
1997 Edna M. Lay, DO, FAAO, FCA*
1996 Edward G. Stiles, DO, FAAO
1995 Stephen D. Blood, DO, FAAODist, FCA
1994 Gary L. Ostrow, DO
1993 Raymond J. Hruby, DO, FAAODist
1992 William A. Kuchera, DO, FAAO
1991 Robert E. Kappler, DO, FAAODist, FCA*
1990 J. Scott Heatherington, DO*
1989 Philip E. Greenman, DO, FAAODist*
1988 John H. Harakal, DO, FAAO*
1987 Robert C. Fulford, DO*
1986 Anthony G. Chila, DO, FAAODist, FCA
1985 Robert W. England, DO, FAAO*
1984 David Heilig, DO, FAAO*
1983 John P. Goodridge, DO, FAAO
1982 Alan R. Becker, DO, FAAO*
1981 David A. Patriquin, DO, FAAO
1980 Harold A. Blood, DO, FAAO*
1979 Harold I. Magoun, Jr., DO, FAAO*
1978 Russell M. Wright, DO*
1977 Viola M. Frymann, DO, FAAODist, FCA*
1976 J. Marshall Hoag, DO, FAAO*
1975 Catherine K. Carlton, DO, FAAO*
1974 R. McFarlene Tilley, DO*
1973 Donald Siehl, DO, FAAO*


John M. Jones, DO, Awarded AT Still Medallion

The American Academy of Osteopathy (AAO) has awarded the 2021 Andrew Taylor Still Medallion of Honor to John M. Jones, DO, of Petal, Mississippi.

Walter C. Ehrenfeuchter, DO, FAAO, Receives FAAO Distinguished Service Award

Walter C. Ehrenfeuchter, DO, FAAO, of Suwanee, Georgia, received the Fellow of American Academy of Osteopathy Distinguished (FAAO) Service Award.

AOF/AAO Outstanding Resident in OMM Nominations for 2021

Submit your nomination for 2021 Outstanding Resident in OMM by May 9.